House Oversight of Energy Legislation

House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Greg Walden (R-OR) announced four incoming Republican members today: Buddy Carter (R-GA),  Ryan Costello (R-PA),  Tim Walberg (R-MI),  Mimi Walters (R-CA).

The Committee on Energy and Commerce was established on December 14, 1795. It is the oldest standing legislative committee in the U.S. House of Representatives and it is vested with the broadest jurisdiction of any congressional authorizing committee.

The committee oversees the Departments of Energy, Health and Human Services, Commerce, and Transportation, as well as the Environmental Protection Agency, the Federal Trade Commission, the Food and Drug Administration, and the Federal Communications Commission.

The committee assumed its present name in 1981 “to emphasize its lead role in the nation’s energy policy,” according to the committee website.

House Energy and Power Subcommittee Touches Fossil Fuels, Pipelines, Renewables, Power Generation

Under the House Committee on Energy and Commerce resides the Energy and Power Subcommittee which is responsible for legislative oversight of U.S. energy sector lawmaking regarding:

  • National energy policy;
  • Fossil energy;
  • Renewable energy;
  • Nuclear energy and nuclear facilities;
  • The Department of Energy;
  • The Nuclear Regulatory Commission;
  • The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC);
  • Synthetic and alternative fuels;
  • Energy conservation;
  • Energy information;
  • Utility issues;
  • Interstate energy compacts;
  • Energy generation, marketing, reliability, transmission, siting, exploration, production, efficiency, cybersecurity, and ratemaking for all generated power;
  • Pipelines;
  • The Clean Air Act and air emissions;
  • All laws, programs, and government activities affecting energy matters, including all aspects of the above-referenced jurisdiction related to the Department of Homeland Security.

Energy and Power Subcommittee Republican Members

Pete Olson (Texas – 22) – Vice Chairman
John Shimkus (Illinois – 15)
Joseph Pitts (Pennsylvania – 16)
Robert Latta (Ohio – 05)
Gregg Harper (Mississippi – 03)
David McKinley (West Virginia – 01)
Mike Pompeo (Kansas – 04)
Adam Kinzinger (Illinois – 16)
Morgan Griffith (Virginia – 09)
Bill Johnson (Ohio – 06)
Billy Long (Missouri – 07)
Renee Ellmers (North Carolina – 02)
Bill Flores (Texas – 17)
Markwayne Mullin (Oklahoma – 02)
Richard Hudson (North Carolina – 08)
Joe Barton (Texas – 06)
Fred Upton (Michigan – 06) – Ex Officio

Energy and Power Subcommittee Democrat Members

Bobby Rush (Illinois – 01) – Ranking Member
Jerry McNerney (California – 09)
Paul Tonko (New York – 20)
Eliot Engel (New York – 16)
Gene Green (Texas – 29)
Lois Capps (California – 24)
Michael Doyle (Pennsylvania – 14)
Kathy Castor (Florida – 14)
John Sarbanes (Maryland – 03)
Peter Welch (Vermont – 00)
John Yarmuth (Kentucky – 03)
David Loebsack (Iowa – 02)
Frank Pallone (New Jersey – 06) – Ex Officio

Legal Notice