Scott Pruitt was confirmed to run the EPA today, with the Senate voting 52-46 to confirm. Two Democrats, Joe Manchin (WV) and Heidi Heitkamp (ND) crossed party lines to support Pruitt, while one Republican, Susan Collins (ME), voted against him.

Scott Pruitt Confirmed as EPA Head

Source: State of Oklahoma

Scott Pruitt has been the Oklahoma Attorney General since 2011, in which position he distinguished himself as a harsh critic of the EPA. Pruitt’s office filed numerous suits to block the EPA’s Clean Power Plan, Waters of the United States rule and power plant regulations, among others. Pruitt also created a “Federalism Unit” during his tenure as Oklahoma AG, which devoted itself to opposing federal regulations during the Obama administration.

The Independent Petroleum Association of America (IPAA) released a statement today congratulating Pruitt:

“Coming from the energy-producing state of Oklahoma, Mr. Pruitt understands the critical importance of implementing policies that both support our economy and protect the environment. Having a clear and fair regulatory framework is critical for independent producers… We look forward to working with Mr. Pruitt in his new role as EPA Administrator.”

Legal Notice